Team AIGETOA meeting on E2-E3 with senior officers of DoT, New Delhi:

Today, Team AIGETOA comprising Shri Wasi Ahmad GS, Shri Veerbhadra Rao AIP, Shri Badri Kumar Mehta FS, Shri Vivek Kumar Sing AGS and Shri Sunil Gautam AGS met senior officers in the DoT on E2 E3.

Team first met Shri Raite Madhav Rao, Dy Secretary (PSU-I) and discuss in detail about the ongoing stalemate on approval of the Standard Scale E2-E3 for JTO/JAO and SDE/AO Equivalent grades as replacement of non standard scale E1A-E2A in line with BSNL Board Proposal submitted to the DoT. We submitted our resentment that the the letter issued by the DoT for not agreeing to the E2-E3 scale on the ground of cascading has not been withdrawn despite bringing it to the knowledge that reasons is misleading and contradictory of BSNL Board decision. We apprised about the prevailing resentment in BSNL due to wrong letter issued by the DoT. He apprised that the letter was issued just in response of the Dy CLC conciliation meeting and doesn’t replicate complete picture of the issue. He further assured that issue of E2-E3 has not been closed and still alive.

GS explained that how DoT can deny the approval of two non standard scales, when all other scales have been replaced in the 2nd PRC Presidential Order. DoT can’t degrade the scale against the BSNL Board decision and cited various examples of other CPSEs, where non standard scales have been upgraded to next higher scale. Further no department can lowered the scale of any officer without punishment or penalty and hence only solution lies in approval of E2-E3 Scales.

We apprised that our standard pay scale case is also in advance stage and instead of facing adverse decision, the issue should be reopened to assess once again for approval of Standard Scale E2-E3 by the DoT, Govt of India without cascading of other Scales. It was also apprised that only minor changes will be required in EPP to intact the five financial upgradations.

He got convinced with arguments of the team and assured to give a relook on the issue. All relevant documents were submitted to him once again. He has also sought one new letter from BSNL on the matter.

The arguments were also put forward by Shri Veerabhadra Rao, Shri Badri Mehta, Shri Vivek Kumar Singh and Shri Sunil Gautam on the issue. Finally it was agreed that the matter will be discussed with JS(Admin) for re-examination of the issue.